Canadian Geographic
Left navigation image
First Peoples

Pacific northwest

Salmon-swarming rivers, a bountiful sea, and the majestic rainforest gave power and wealth to the Haida and Coast Salish, the trading Tsimshian, the Nuu-chahnulth (Nootka) whalers, the Tlingit, the Kwakwaka’wakw, and the Nuxalk (Bella Coolas). Food was varied and abundant. Towering red cedars yielded rot-resistant beams and framing for their fine homes, logs for their 22-metre-long canoes, and rain-resistant bark for clothing and blankets. Renowned carvers of totems, masks, bowls, and helmets, they revered shamans for their links to the spirit world. The potlatch, a communal ritual of feasting, storytelling, dancing, and gift-giving, was all important.


Six major cultural groups The animation starts with a map of Canada. Following the narration, the six regions corresponding to the six First Peoples’ cultural groups are each labelled and shown in their individual colours. Clicking on a region focuses on that region, and narration provides more specific information about the Aboriginal people living there.

Content (Narration)

Canada’s First Peoples can be divided into six major cultural regions: the Arctic; Subarctic; Pacific North-west Coast; Plateau; Plains; and Eastern Woodlands. Click on a cultural grouping to learn more.


On the next page:


Go now!  Go now!
Quiz :

Who do experts consider as Canada's possible earliest arrivals?

Northeast Asians only
Northeast Asians, Europeans, Polynesians
Northeast Asians and Europeans