Canadian Geographic
Left navigation image
Geography of coins


The Royal Canadian Mint’s business is organized around four areas:

Canadian circulation.
Produces and manages distribution of domestic circulation coins in denominations of 1 cent (penny), 5 cents (nickel), 10 cents (dime), 25 cents (quarter) and 50 cents, as well as 1-dollar (loonie) and 2-dollar (toonie) coins.

Produces limited-edition precious and base-metal collector coins, as well as medals, medallions and tokens.

Foreign business.
Supplies foreign clients with circulation and numismatic coinage and manages the production of tooling, blanks and coins from the Ottawa and Winnipeg facilities. Over the past 25 years, the Mint has supplied more than 70 countries with coinage.

Bullion and refinery services.
Produces precious-metal investment products in gold, silver, platinum and palladium bullion coins, wafers and bars; the Gold and Silver Maple Leaf bullion coins are prime examples. The Mint also operates gold and silver refineries.

Click to view video

Its Ottawa facility, with about 745 employees, is responsible for numismatic (collectible) coins, medals and tokens, bullion production and gold and silver refining.

The Winnipeg facility produces circulation coins for Canada and circulation products for international clients. It employs approximately 280 people.


This piece outlines the refining and minting activities that take place at the Royal Canadian Mint’s two facilities: Ottawa and Winnipeg. The user can choose to view information on the original Sussex Drive facility or the state-of-the-art Winnipeg facility.


On the next page:


Go now!  Go now!
Quiz :

Where is the state-of-the-art facility that produces all Canadian circulation coins located?