Canadian Geographic
Left navigation image
INSIDE: Six natural regions Go now!

Canada is a mosaic of natural regions, or ecozones, distinguished by their iconic features: the rain forest of the Pacific Coast, the flat-to-rolling horizon of the prairie, the evergreen wilderness of the Canadian Shield, and the polar barrens of the Arctic.

Wheat fields, grain elevators, and remote farmsteads on the rolling prairie endure as persistent images of the Central Plains. But, on close inspection, this natural region presents a more varied and complex geographic and economic picture. The Central Plains consists of two distinct ecozones: the Prairies and the Boreal Plains, which cover much of the three Prairie provinces, as well as parts of British Columbia and the Northwest Territories. The Prairies, roughly triangular in shape, rolls westward from Winnipeg to the Rocky Mountain foothills, with Edmonton marking this ecozone’s northern apex. The Boreal Plains to the north is an arc of boreal forest twice the size of the Prairies. Of all Canada’s natural regions, the Prairies ecozone is the most greatly altered, largely through agriculture development. The long dominance of agriculture is now being challenged and transformed by resource extraction and industrial production that promise a more secure economic foundation for the Central Plains. Nowhere is this change more apparent than in Calgary, Edmonton, Saskatoon, Regina, and Winnipeg, which increasingly reflect more diversified economies and employment opportunities.


On the next page:


Pointer disabled  Go now!
Quiz :

Tar sands, a mixture of oil and sand, is also known as…

silicon gold
carbon dioxide