Canadian Geographic
Left navigation image
Building Canada

Where bills become law

Parliament Hill in Ottawa is home to both Canada’s House of Commons and the Senate, and is where bills become law. To be adopted into law, a bill must first gain a majority of votes from Members of Parliament in the House, then be approved by the Senate before receiving royal assent from the Governor General. The Gothic Revival structure was built between 1859 and 1866. A devastating fire in 1916 leveled the Centre Block, which was rebuilt by 1922 to a new design that included the 93-metre Peace Tower.


Ottawa's Parliament Hill This animation is a slide show of colour images of different parts of the Houses of Parliament in Canada.


On the next page:

End of section

Go now!  Pointer disabled
Quiz :

In what year was Labrador ceded to Newfoundland?