Canadian Geographic
Left navigation image
Arctic and Taiga


Canada’s northern ecozones cover all the arctic islands and offshore waters, and the taiga from the Mackenzie Delta to Labrador. Tuktut Nogait National Park, representative of the Southern Arctic ecozone, supports caribou, muskoxen, and Canada’s rarest bird, the Eskimo curlew. Vegetation, confined by the frozen soil and the cold, dry climate, includes lichens, mosses, and dwarf shrubs, which burst forth during brief summers. Along the river gorges, a few stunted spruce mark the northern limit of tree growth.


Ecozones This self-running animation is a map of just the Canadian Arctic, “Arctic Ecozone.” Blue lines mark boundaries between the ecozones of the Arctic: Arctic Archipelago, Southern Arctic, Arctic Basin, Taiga Plains, Northern Arctic, Taiga Shield, Arctic Cordillera, Hudson Plains.
Clicking on any of them opens up a text box with statistics on each Ecozone, such as area, mean January and July temperatures and wildlife.

Content (Text and Narration)
Canada is a mosaic of ecozones. These can be broadly categorized into 6 natural regions as follows: Pacific and Western Mountains, Central Plains, Boreal Shield, Mixedwood Plains, Atlantic, and Arctic and Taiga. Each region is defined by its geology, climate, flora and fauna. Click on a region to learn more about its unique geography.


On the next page:

Six natural regions

Go now!  Go now!
Quiz :

What percentage of Canada's area takes up the Northern Arctic ecozone?