Canadian Geographic
Left navigation image
Previous lesson Next lesson Go now! Back to search results

Canada’s Natural Regions and Their Varied Characteristics

Atlas themes Teaching level Province/Territory

Arctic and Taiga
Atlantic Region
Central Plains
Mixedwood Plains
Pacific and Mountains
Boreal Shield

Secondary (9-12)


Students will study Canada’s six natural regions, with all their underlying human and economic activities. They will discover the economic and human riches of the natural regions and, by so doing, discover those of Canada as a whole. A quiz could be given as an extension to the lesson or as an evaluation tool.

Lesson plan

Lesson Plan in MS-Word Download

Lesson Plan in HTML Download

Lesson Plan in PDF Download